The differences between countries are becoming less and less evident. People all over the world wear the same fashions, watch the same t.v. channels, use the same brands and have similar eating habits. Do you think that the advar ages ages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages

In the era of globalization, people from across the globe are sharing striking similarities in different aspects of life, ranging from fashions, daily habits to advertising or entertainment, blurring out the distinction between nations. From my perspective, this phenomenon brings about more significant benefits rather than drawbacks, given people’s awareness.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that the resemblance in global ways of living poses a potential threat to the national identity. When the same activities and habits are deeply embeded in people’s life, they are more likely to perform this tendency in a long term, and gradually neglect their traditional customs. Additionally, the hectic and overwhelming pace of living leads to less time allocated for preserving and maintaining traditional norms, since the residents are obligated to fulfill daily enormous workloads. Subsequently, these factors contribute to the dissapearance of former social customs, which eventually results in the lost of national identity.

On the other hand, I hold a belief that the similar lifestyles offer more merits. Given the context of globalization, many people nowadays, especially younger generations, are drawn to migrate and reside overseas. They often seek for career advancement from multinational corporations worldwide, which requires them to commute to various regions. As a result, sharing the same way of living can facilitate these individuals to adapt to different societies quickly and avoid cultural shocks, yielding significant comfort and a sense of similarity.

It is worth mentioning that this trend can alleviate the emerging problems stem from racial discrimination. In the past, the differences in social belief and lifestyles often yield conflicts and discrimination among the global populace. For instance, British people might be regarded as arrogant or egocentric because they are reserved and indifferent in their manners. Therefore, the similarity in daily habits enables individuals to enhance their cultural tolerance, helping them in the integration into different societies. Given the advantages of this phenomenon, it is best for the global residents to assimilate shared norms with the awareness of cultural appropriation, preventing the lost of national cultures.

In conclusion, while sharing many aspects of life presents certain risks in term of cultural preservation, I personally believe that the benefits far outweigh the problems. As people nowadays integrate more easily into numerous countries worldwide, and are more tolerant towards others.