The government should pay for large pieces of art for public display in outdoor places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A school of thought holds that the act of investing money in outdoor art exhibitions should be encouraged/ reinforced. While I acknowledge that the benefit this approach may confer upon mood development, I assert my disagreement on this notion for relevant reasons retaining advanced medical priorities and little attention gained from the society.

On the one hand, it is understandable why the government wants to cater numerous outdoor places for pieces of art. The key rationale contributing to this investment is to potentially facilitate a positive state of emotion. This is chiefly because a variety of paintings, monuments align with various colors, vibes, objects and meanings which inadvertently offers residents inspiration and fantastic feeling, most remarkably within the community of individuals who are art-addicted and have a deep understanding of it. Regarding the positive message that a particular picture or statue conveys, it will bolster the citizens’ energy and render them efficient in working or performing well in academics. This obviously drives dwellers to implant productivity as a result of a positive state of mood. Hence, the proposal of allowing local councils to use funding in exhibiting paintings and monuments in public seems justifiable.

On the other hand, I am convinced that investing a large amount of money in such visual amusement to display in public areas has a litany of drawbacks. Chief among these is that it takes away budget/ money from more essential infrastructure projects. Funding in art means cutting the expenses used to solve some much more urgent social issues like poverty and health issues that affect socio-economic growth in a more profound way. For instance, the need for advanced medical centers is also enormous, particularly within the context of post-covid 19 by which health declines significantly across the community. Additionally, implementing the public’s focus on art is yet another daunting task. Owing to the fact that individuals are not always immersed in enjoying artistic works, people who care less about art or at least do not appreciate it will consider these colorful pictures and monumentary values as a predominant boredom. Once gaining less fraction to those constructions, spending a huge expense into them appears not to be fully worthwhile.

In conclusion, although I acknowledge that the benefit of art exhibitions in public places confer the upgradation of the city’s beauty, however, I would contend that the society is riddled with above-mentioned issues of finance and physical health that need paramount advanced medical priorities and the attention from residents to art.