The increasing frequency of satellite launches and space debris is becoming a threat to the Earth. What are the main causes? What measures can be taken to address this?

With greater advancements in the field of science, progress in space adventures is also growing at an unexpected rate. However, the surge in satellite launches also contribute to increased residues in the outer space, endangering the Earth. The prime reason behind this is the reduced cost of space ventures, while it can be managed with potential solutions such as active debris removal.

Counting the contributors of space debris primarily comes reduced cost for materials and overall reduction of expenses on spaceships. This leads to increased satellite launches, causing collisions and debris formation. More underdeveloped countries are initiating such projects today exemplify this trend. Similarly, increased demand for internet, communication and other satellite services is yet another cause that leads to more launches and debris formation. Since this need is higher, the number of satellites would increase creating a greater threat for the earth as well as outer space.

Since the causes of satellite debris is certain, there are multiple ways by which everything could be under control. The foremost solution for this is to initiate active debris removal ventures. These systems, if implemented, can collect harmful debris in an appropriate way, neither damaging Earth, nor the outer space. At the same time, enforcing stricter policies in quality of materials, frequency of launches, and the like can effectively reduce this risk. This way, both scientists and national authorities would be cautious regarding each of their ventures minimizing risk. As an example, UN’s Space Debris Mitigation Guidelines are active today to address this risk in a systematic way.

In conclusion, Earth is facing a serious threat from space debris thanks to the increased frequency of satellite launches. The major reasons that brought this threat include reduced cost of such ventures and increased demand of internet and communication. However, these threats can be addressed with proper measures such as active debris management or by enforcing strict policies.