The issue of gay marriage remains controversial. Some people think that this trend has adverse effects on the society while others believe that it is seen as a natural trend and right for people to choose this type of marriage. Should gay marriage be legal?

The atmosphere revolving around homosexual marriage remains unrest. Many people claim that this phenomenon is disadvantageous to society, while some others think it is their own right when it comes to this type of marital affiliation. I believe this type of marriage should under no circumstances be legal and must be discouraged on all levels of social hierarchy. In this essay, we will discuss both sides of the story and reach a proper conclusion.

On the one hand, gay marriage, or any type of gay relations, more often than not, exists as a significant threat to social health and the tranquility of society. Gay rights protests and other homosexuality-related events carry a possibility of creating violent uprisings, which pose a direct physical threat upon passersby, and popularizing not-so-safe rituals of the gay community such as unprotected sex and recreational drug use in the name of “expressing oneself”, which can then in turn cause outbreaks of sexually transmitted diseases and overdose deaths due to adulterated substances.

On the other hand, homosexual marriage is seen as a method of self-expression nowadays, and more and more people are starting to believe that this is a normal occurrence in civilization. In modern days, human rights have been prioritized stronger than ever and it has entered every aspect of life. Following this increase of freedom, people can live their lives however they want with less judgment from others, leading to them being satisfied with their current lives, reducing the risk of stress and developing depression along with similar mental disorders.

In conclusion, gay relations should be illegal. Although gay relationships can help people have their best preferred version of their lives and act as a symbol of freedom, they come with the persistent risk of dragging more people into unconventional habits of life, and possibly put their well-being at risk.