The key solution for the environmental issues is for the current generation to live a less comfortable life to benefit future generations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problems have long been a recurring concern for past and present generations, and they will continue to exist in future generations if actions are not taken promptly. While sacrificing our current convenient lifestyle may result in multiple backlashes, the benefits that action can bring outweigh the disadvantages. Hence, I am of the opinion that people should step out of their comfort zone to resolve the environmental issues once and for all.

Firstly, some may contend that millions have been struggling to survive and provide for their families. It is inequitable to demand that they further compromise for the environment’s sake when they are already experiencing other challenges such as inflation, job insecurity, and stagnant wages. Furthermore, it is arguable that people should address these issues by employing large-scale technologies or policies instead of disregarding people’s accustomed ways of living, as it allows for more accessible and widespread implementation that corresponds to the preferences and habits of such individuals. Moreover, demanding the current generation to sacrifice their standard of living may further increase resentment towards the previous generation who created the foundation of the current environmental problems, and the future generation who will not have to make as equal sacrifices as people living in the present day.

However, today’s generation should understand their ethical obligation to sacrifice in ways that can benefit the next generations, especially through the protection of the environment. This means that the present generation has the ultimate responsibility of ensuring that those who come after them and continue to live on Earth are provided with a healthier environment in which they can live. Despite the fact that it may be extremely difficult for a person to make certain sacrifices and modify their behavior, it is thoroughly imperative to do so to address the current global ecological problems such as climate change, pollution, and depletion of resources. In other words, if the current generation embraces and fully supports these sacrifices, they will be rewarded with a healthy and prosperous world for their children, grandchildren, and the next generations. It becomes the great responsibility of the current generation to make some of the hardest calls, but calls that will ensure the protection of the Earth for generations to come instead of protecting today’s conveniences. Although this is not an easy task, it is in fact the most optimal approach if the future inhabitants of this world are to be bequeathed with a better shape of Earth than it currently is.

In conclusion, while it may entail considerable effort to make the requisite sacrifices to overcome environmental problems, it is incumbent upon the current generation to do so in order to ensure the provision of a better and sustainable planet for future generations. Despite the short-term obstacles of personal convenience and cultural norms that may hinder change, the advantages of preserving the environment surpass the downsides. Thus, by accepting the necessary losses and changes, the present generation can create a healthier and more sustainable world for their children and grandchildren, hence being the true stewards of the planet.