The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime. Why do you think that is? Do you think the news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

It is true that news platforms often face criticism for mainly reporting negative events like wars, famines, accidents, and crime. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and then explain why balancing positive and negative news is crucial for a well-informed society.

There are a number of factors responsible for the prevalence of bad news. Chief among these is that reporting on bad issues informs people about potential dangers which often have significant consequences for their lives. Another point worth mentioning is that media outlets want to have higher ratings and viewership to gain increased advertising revenue.

However, I am advocate that a steady balance of positive and negative news is essential. This is because reporting both good and bad news provides a more accurate and comprehensive view of the world. If reporters only prioritize in negative events and neglect other good aspects, which can increase the risk of hopelessness, anxiety and distrust in this world for the citizens. Therefore, people might not believe in an optimistic and resilient life. Nevertheless, concentrating on positive developments alongside bad news is indispensable in providing a realistic view of the global landscape. This is because good news can inspire hope and encourage more meaningful actions.

In conclusion, several reasons can be given to explain why most of the news being reported is negative events. While bad news can require immediate public attention, it’s necessary to have a balance.