The most common solution for criminal behavior prison, but many believe education is a better method. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether or not enhancing pedagogical methods are more likely to reduce crimes rather than sending criminals to prison. From my point of view, I partly agree with this idea.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that teaching can improve and change individuals’ awareness and behaviours. For young people, education can prevent them from crimes thanks to morally correct awareness created by parents’ and schools’ orientation. As a result, well-educated people are able to be aware of ethical actions that they can do instead of being tempted or doing illegal things. Meanwhile, education also gives offenders a second chance to be re-educated in special schools. By being re-educated about ethical theories, criminals are more likely to recognize their offenses and change their awareness with forgiveness from society and the government.

On the other hand, intense punishments still tend to be implemented to avoid other crimes happening. Initially, although education is capable of changing some criminals’ attitudes and behaviours, it cannot influence all of them. For instance, many teenaged criminals who are educated in training schools because of stealing and fighting crimes might reoffend easily after being set free without changing themselves. In addition, serious crimes which impact severely on victims, such as murdering or economic crimes, still need strict punishments for offenders. Consequently, the government deters their citizens to abide by the nation’s law, so that they can ensure peace for the society.

In conclusion, while education can affect people’s awareness effectively, imprisonments are more likely to be carried out to punish crimes at different levels.