The movement of people from agricultural areas to cities to work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems? What measures can be used to solve these problems?

These days, the migration of countryside dwellers into urban areas in search of better working conditions has become a common sight. However, this trend can give rise to numerous problems in both areas. This essay will shed light on the issues, and propose some practical solutions to mitigate the situation.

The first problem deriving from this shift is the lack of workforce in the countryside areas. That is, if the majority of adults start leaving their hometown to earn lucrative salaries or lead a better-quality lifestyle, farmers will struggle to hire workers to do the job – harvesting, plough and taking care of remaining chores. The deficiency of agricultural workers will consequently lead to delayed crop harvest and rising cost of consumer goods, which negatively impact on the whole economy as a whole. The second one is connected with overpopulation in urban cites. The arrival of additional residents in cities brings no tangible benefits, except for exacerbating the current ever-growing problem related to inadequate infrastructure – housing shortages, poor road conditions, deficiency of public schools and hospitals. The aforementioned facts clearly outline how the migration puts an extra strain on both areas.

The way forward involves government interference through imposing favourable regulations and enhancing the quality of life in the outskirts; provided that authorities introduce laws – establishing green zones or lifting the tax burden in distant areas – many dwellers will be motivated to stay at their locality. Cities are already struggling with ever-growing population explosion, meaning that such legislation not only keep the outsiders at bay, but also might encourage city residents to join them. Additionally, enhancing the countryside infrastructure – the introduction of bicycle lanes, amenities, and social buildings – can alleviate the issue. Only by discouraging people by creating decent opportunities in rural areas can the problem be addressed effectively.

In conclusion, whereas the exodus of individuals makes matters worse by leading to overpopulation and soaring property prices, the solution lies in government policies and reforms.