The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create? What are some solutions?

The older individuals seeking employment have to compete with younger ones. This essay attempts to shed light on the problems which have resulted from this tendency before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle them.

There are two major problems which the older generation has to face when competing with the young. Firstly, this phenomenon causes senior candidates to have difficulties in finding a job. This is because employers have a tendency to recruit young applicants who are more energetic and creative, and this could deprive many job opportunities of the old although they have similar abilities. Secondly, this tendency also has some negative impacts on overall health of the old. This can be attributed to the fact that trying to catch up with the young requires the senior applicants to work under enormous pressure and with hectic schedules, and this could lead to many serious metal healths problems such as depression or mental breakdown.

To combat this worrying issue, the following feasible steps should be taken. One possible solution is that firms should provide the old with training courses. Through these programs, they could learn how to use effectively technology devices and cultivate job relevant skills including time management and problem-solving skills, thereby enhancing their performances which increase productivity of the companies. Another suitable solution is that goverment should introduce strict regulation in order to protect the old against age discrimination. Specifically, they could fine heavily recruiters who choose employers base on the age, and this could help old generation have equal job opportunities.

In conclusion, there are some serious repercussions attributable to this negative phenomenon, and it is vital that the aforementioned measures could be implemented to deal with these issues.