The range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think it has the opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

There are many controversies over whether the expanding accessibility of technology to individuals is increasing or decreasing the gap between the wealthy and the underprivileged. This matter consists of two different views which will be discussed in this essay before my own opinion is given.

On the one hand, there are two reasons why the availability of technological resources is growing the gap between the rich and the poor. Firstly, the cost of advanced technological devices and internet access is a barrier for people from low-income backgrounds. Indeed, they do not have the ability to access these resources. For example, many students who grow up in disadvantaged families in remote mountainous regions in Vietnam struggle to afford smartphones and computers, which hinders their educational opportunities compared to those from rich families. The second reason would be that the rapid technological advancement requires adaptation and skill development. Specifically, the wealthy have better access to training programs or courses about the newest technologies that allow them to acquire the necessary digital skills to thrive in modern life. However, the poor who live in the countryside lack resources and support with innovative technologies, which puts them at a disadvantage in the job market.

On the other hand, there are two reasons why the increasing accessibility of technology to individuals is bridging the gap between the wealthy and the underprivileged. First of all, technological devices now come at different prices and brands that allow everyone to access educational materials, online courses and knowledge-sharing platforms. For example, some websites such as Coursera, Udemy or Khan Academy offer several free courses with open-source materials, which provides opportunities for everyone, regardless of their socioeconomic backgrounds, to gain new skills and knowledge. Secondly, technology supports the rise of online businesses, whichthat provides income sources and employment opportunities. For instance, these days, it is easy to sell products on e-platforms such as Facebook, Shopee or Tiktok to improve financial situations for those from poor families.

In conclusion, each view has its own advantages and disadvantages. In my opinion, I believe that the expanding accessibility of technological resources is narrowing the disparity