The responsibility to prevent global environmental damage is on politicians rather than individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that politicians are more responsible than individuals for protecting the world from global deterioration. In my opinion, although politicians have some responsibilities to protect the environment, the majority of those responsibilities fall on individuals.

To begin with, it is important to acknowledge that politicians have the power to prevent bad actions. However, politicians are elected by the people in democratic countries. It means that every citizen has the right to select the politicians who will help reduce environmental damage. For example, research shows that in developing and undeveloped countries, people usually think about their own benefits rather than environmental issues. This is the reason environmental deterioration is increasing in those countries. If they had voted for the correct politicians, they would have solved those problems easily.

That said, people may act as a community, especially when it comes to their rights. Additionally, their small actions may have major consequences because they are protesting as a community. For instance, protests may lead to a modernization of the legal system in their country. Despite the fact that people are considered weak individually, they can easily create public opinion. Furthermore, politicians usually do not realize the problems of people before they are told or warned by citizens. In contrast, their politics relies on their supporters’ opinions and actions.

In conclusion, it is impossible to think that politicians have more responsibilities than individuals. People should protect the environment by voting for the correct person first and acting and protesting as a society.