The tendency for human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion in clothes and other consumer goods. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the phenomenon that individuals have a habit of mimicking others as can be reflected in fashion clothes and consumer products is under discussion. I totally agree with this statement. This essay will give the reasons and disadvantages of this tendency.

There are some reasons why people have the trend of following one another. First, individuals often have the fear of being wrong and tend to follow the majority. Some are afraid that they will be judged or criticized for creating something unique and different; therefore, they value blending into the crowds to be socially acceptable and desirable. For example, in a discussion group, opinions that are accepted by the majority of people usually outweigh other ones. Individuals judge it as the recognized perspective, so it is the right view. On the other hand, this tendency reflects the reality that some people or groups consider imitation as a way of seeking approval and belonging. Since many brands and labels launch advertisements featuring influencers or celebrities, which creates a rapid spread in society. People tend to mirror popular styles to avoid being perceived as outdated or different.

However, this phenomenon brings about some remarkable disadvantages. The first one is the loss of individuality. When people prioritize following crowd trends, their creative ability will be inhibited by general conceptions. Some might be under pressure to adapt with the popularity and restrict their self-expression, leading to the expiration of originality and whole-coloured society. Secondly, the rapid propagation of trendings causes the superficiality in popular fashion and consumer goods, which products are published with exorbitant prices and low quality. This boosts individuals or groups to plagiarize from well-known items as if they were their products to make profits. In addition, catching up with trends can create financial strain when buyers waste money on unnecessary and high price goods.

In conclusion, people tend to imitate others to integrate into society and have the feeling of belonging. I firmly agree with this opinion. However, this phenomenon also comes with some noticeable drawbacks that highlight the deterioration of life’s quality.