The tendency for human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of fashion in clothes and other consumer goods. Do you agree or disagree?

It is universally accepted that the trend for individuals copying each other in terms of the fashion aspect and other products is becoming more and more popular. Although this belief is superficially true, as far as I am concerned, I am totally agree with this view. There are two elements contributing to this trend, which are human’s desire to be recognized and the social pressure against humans.

From the past, humans naturally want to be recognized by others. In terms of the fashion aspect, whether the outfit is trendy or some celebrities wear it, some individuals tend to buy and wear it despite the costly outfit. For other consumer products, such as gadgets, other small firms have a desire to copy exactly the model and sell it cheaper for consumers but the quality is not as high as it seems. For instance, when Apple releases a new model of Airpods, the other unknown small companies will copy it and hand to the consumer the exact replica. This will cause the confusion to consumers whether the product is truly made by Apple or from unknown companies. Therefore, these firms will get the enormous benefits and high profits every time Apple release new gadgets.

As the society develops, the social pressure towards every individuals is being larger and larger. This will set a new social standard for everyone and make people more worried about their life. For example, when Apple brings out a new model of iPhone, the middle class and higher may easily afford one although the lower ones will struggle to get it. Then the lowers might think purchasing the newest iPhone will get the social recognition and begin to work overtime to get more money. As a result, the financial burden among the lower classes gradually grows and this will worsen their life even more.

In conclusion, the popularity of this trend is likely becoming higher due to two main factors. The desire to be recognized drives humans into confusion and the social standard cause the lower classes’ life to be worsen. Hence this must not be neglected.