The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a widely-held view (and somewhat paradoxical) that the existence of nuclear weapons preserves world peace and that nuclear power provides affordable and zero-carbon energy. The evidence is clear that those who possess nuclear power plants have larger and stronger economies generating low-cost sustainable energy and significantly more sophisticated military forces. However, with power comes responsibility and there are questions over how well this is managed especially as history is littered with examples of nations using this power against their neighbors in the name of peaceful co-existence.

The immeasurable store of energy generated by nuclear power plants is well-known, especially as a long-term solution to global energy demands. Advocates of nuclear energy often refer to the low-cost of production. However, critics will highlight the hazardous risks associated with its storage and disposal. Nuclear waste is extremely volatile, dangerous and toxic with the only way to dispose of it is to bury it deep underground. Inevitably, the buried waste eventually impacts the surrounding ecosystem by infiltrating subterranean water tables and reservoirs. In the USA scientists have found genetic mutations in different species of fish caused by nuclear contamination in the form of liquid waste filtering through soil and rock to finally reach waterways, rivers and other bodies of water.

Another ostensible and much-heralded benefit of nuclear energy is in its use in the stockpiling of nuclear weapons and the deterrence value. The assumption is that if all states are nuclear armed no single state will survive in the event of a conflagration. Advocates like to say that nuclear weapons maintain world peace. However, when only a handful of nations yield nuclear weapons, the majority live in fear and are often victims of oppression, exploitation and intimidation. The use of fear as a policy may lead to fascism and totalitarianism which history has shown result in more conflict and war. I believe the development of nuclear weapons is likely to lead to a more dangerous world and it would only be a matter of time before nuclear-armed nations use their superior power over their neighbors.

In summary, the notion that world peace is maintained through nuclear threat and fear mongering is very short-sighted as history has shown us that conflict arises from asymmetrical imbalances in power and full-blown wars result. Moreover, while humanity debates whether to gamble with nuclear weapons, the deterioration of our environment continues with the reckless use and disposal of nuclear waste.