The values that we learn from our parents and family have a greater influence on our future success than the knowledge and skills we learn at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a view that the values that we acquire from our parents and family members have a more crucial role in our future success compared with that of the knowledge and skills we get at school. While some may argue that schools have greater influence on our future success, I firmly believe that family has a greater role on people’s future success.

On the one hand, some argue that the knowledge and skills that are taught in schools have larger influence, and they claim that this is almost only thing that students need. There is no doubt that students need to be well educated to succeed at something, especially when it comes to achieving academic success. Without knowledge and communicative skills, students may fail entrance exams at university and consequently lose the chance of getting high-level education. Meanwhile, this school or university knowledge might be needed on their future job, since some employers are looking for someone with strong academical background.

On the other hand, in my opinion, parents shape their children’s character traits that are enormously crucial in children’s future success. They teach their children how to be resilient, strong, and disciplined, and mostly it happens on a daily basis, for example when they do something together, or even by telling some stories about their past. By telling stories, parents not only entertain their children, but also give them priceless knowledge about the life itself, for example what to do in certain situations or how to avoid some difficulties. As a result, this experience exposes young people to real-world challenges, helping them become more mature and responsible, which play considerable role on their future success.

Furthermore, family environment influences aspirations, especially supportive parents who encourage goal-setting and long-term planning. Children raised in such households oftentimes succeed because they receive clear guidance and practical support. Parents not only allow them to pursue their goals, but also assist achieve them by providing financial assistance and structured planning. A well-known example is Elon Mask, whose parents supported his early interests in technology, and supported financially, so that he would not struggle with money, that contributed to his later success.

To conclude, even though some may claim that school has greater impact on our future success, in my view, family clearly outperforms schools in that case, by offering life-long guidance, advice and material support, which are more necessary in future success.