The wealth gap between 1st world countries and 3rd world countries seems to be increasing. How can we reduce this gap? Do you think that developed countries have a duty to assist developing countries in every way?

Nowadays, the phenomenon of the increase of wealth gap between developing and developed arouse the concerns of many. If proper assistance is being given to 3rd world countries, such gap wouldn’t have expanded that much. Accordingly, developed countries must interfere to help out other countries which are facing critical challenges or otherwise further consequences might occur affecting the international community, such as illegal immigration, diffused diseases….etc. This essay will discuss in further paragraphs the solutions to reduce the gap and the reasons why wealthier countries should interfere to support.

First, lack of resources and low income of 3rd world countries are hampering their ability to develop. A great example of this are African countries, as they are suffering from poor weather conditions that affect their agriculture. As a result, poverty and hunger levels are increasing significantly there. Therefore, providing African countries with high technological machinery will help them in cultivation and will contribute to reducing the wealth difference between developed and developing countries.

Second, it is the responsibility of the international community to collaborate to assist third world countries. If countries with robust income didn’t provide support to low-income countries, bigger challenges will appear and affect strong income countries as well. For instance, bad quality of living, unemployment and low salaries are the reasons for the illegal immigration from Mexico to the US which is negatively impacting the United States of America. Another example is the spread of malaria even in rich countries as it has developed due to bad health conditions in poor countries.

In conclusion, the increase of the wealth gap between 1st and 3rd world countries is a critical phenomenon that should be considered by the international community. Cooperation, collaboration and understanding the needs countries that face challenges, will ultimately result in curbing those issues and decreasing the wealth gap.