These days, more and more people move away from the area where they were born and brought up when they become adults. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a significant increase in the number of people who move away from their hometown where they were born and raised when compared to the older generation. In this essay, I will be discussing the reasons for this phenomenon and if there is an advantage to this development.

There are certainly some advantages to moving away from the place of your birth, despite the difficulties that an individual is likely to face. There are many real life examples of this, one that comes to mind is a friend of mine who is from a small town in India, about 6 hours from Bangalore. He works as an engineer, and he was not able to earn enough in his hometown to comfortably support his family, and hence he migrated to Perth, Australia. Once there, he was earning almost triple his old salary, along with having a wonderful work life balance and he was able to send money back to his family in India to significantly improve their life.

However, moving away from a familiar place can be very challenging. While the financial benefits are significant and cannot be ignored, the disadvantage is the acute loss of immediate emotional support and the difficulty of returning home at short notice. My friend’s parents are now senior citizens who have increasing health needs, and if one of them were to fall sick or suddenly pass away, my friend cannot immediately go back, it would take him a minimum of one and a half days to return to his town. This would be severely devastating on an emotional level, and could be a factor for many people to decide NOT to move away.

In this essay, I have discussed the advantages and disadvantages of migrating away from one’s hometown, and I believe that the advantages do outweigh the disadvantages of moving away.