‘Unemployment remains the biggest challenge to school-leavers in most countries’ How far do you agree with this assessment? What other challenges face young people today?

It is claimed that youth unemployment is a worrying issue in many nations. This essay disagrees with the statement because public-private partnerships can solve this issue, while brain drain and mental problems like depression remain greater challenges for young people.

Some argue that joblessness is a major concern for those who have just left high school, yet private-sector participation in infrastructure projects can catalyse job creation. In other words, states often collaborate with non-governmental businesses in large-scale constructions that are difficult to undertake alone such as building highways, major airports, and seaports. This could translate into huge demands for construction workers, engineers, and other professionals, eventually augmenting job availability. For example, the state government in Colorado partners with regional transportation authorities and private companies to develop a new commuter rail line, consequently creating thousands of construction jobs. Therefore, I believe unemployment among the youth is not the central problem.

A much more challenging obstacle is perhaps the issue of age demographics, whereby young workers bear the burden for the elderly population with longer life expectancies. This means that they have to pay higher taxes and work longer hours, possibly forcing them to migrate to other countries where the pressure is lower, and thus exacerbating the problem for those remaining. Furthermore, the majority of young individuals have to deal with anxiety and depression. This is due to social expectations in which young adults are expected to meet perceived standards of success at different stages of life, and they can place a mental strain on younger generations. For instance, young individuals in some Asian countries are often expected to excel academically, have a well-paid job after college, and get married before 30, these can contribute to them feeling overwhelmed and depressed.

In conclusion, unemployment among high school graduates is not the most significant concern as the government’s collaboration with the private sector can create more jobs, but the drain of skilled workers and mental health issues cannot easily be solved, and therefore are worth concerning.