We live in a world of technology these days. While the internet brings with it clear advantages, the problems in terms of control and security of information outweighs the advantages.

Nothing good comes without a cost. Regarding this, some argue that the Internet has also caused problems in terms of the control and security of information, which are more pronounced than its advantages. This essay opposes this notion for the following two reasons: firstly, the benefits that the Internet brings are unprecedented by any other technology; secondly, its drawbacks can be easily forestalled through measured approaches.

Undoubtedly, the pros that the Internet has offered to the world are too good to be true. First, communication has never been made this easy. With the introduction and popularity of social media platforms such as Facebook, Skype, or Instagram, a virtual call can be made without any noticeable delay between people from two opposite hemispheres. Second, the global economy has received a great favor from the Internet as well. This results from the fact that cyber technology has opened up diverse channels of markets – for example, e-commerce market or digital currency trading platforms – for sellers, buyers and traders to transact.

Nevertheless, the nature of the Internet, which is its instant connectivity, has made it a perfect tool for wrongdoers to perform evil deeds. People tend to share their personal details on websites that they usually visit so that those pages remember their login information for the next access, which poses a risk of data leakage. However, most governments have already addressed this issue and implemented regulations requiring Internet service providers to upgrade their systems to secure their customers’ personal information. One more thing that exacerbates pessimistic individuals’ hostility to the Internet is the recent introduction of A.I. (artificial intelligence).

Nonetheless, as long as users utilize it mindfully, and authorities implement stringent policies about it and execute them accordingly, its disadvantages will always remain negligible compared to its advantages.