When designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued when constructing a building, the key factor for its significance is the exterior appearance, while others think that its purpose is what makes it stand out. In my point of view, I agree with the first statement, as the looks of monuments contribute to their value and appearance, hence making them a site for tourists and customers.

It cannot be denied that a prestigious-looking structure will play a huge role in raising the building’s merit in every aspect, especially in malls and stores, as it looks more attractive. Owners take huge note of the attractiveness of a building since they know how it can remarkably changing its value, by bringing more customers; thus making more profit. Building magnificent buildings makes a city prettier, thus increasing the number of visitors, which will remarkably increase its wealth and economy. For example, Germany dealt with its economic crisis,by changing the appearance of the cities.

On the other hand, the intention of a structure is not considered by most people. However, they shift their attention to the aesthetic of a monument. For instance, the pyramids of Giza and the Great Wall of China are visited by tourists,because simply they look appealing to the eyes. A recent article by Time News revealed that 90% of tourists do not know the purpose of ancient monuments, but they however; visit it.

To conclude. I think that outward look is the main key factor for construction success, as it contributes for it worth and merit.