With the increasing demand for energy sources of oil and gas, people should look for sources of oil and gas in remote and untouched places. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of damaging such areas?

There is a rising demand for new energy sources of oil and gas in order to fulfill our needs. To some people, the solution is to find these sources in remote and untouched natural places. From my point of view, this solution may bring more drawbacks to the areas than benefits to our demand.

On the one hand, the main drawback of finding sources of oil and gas is the risk of destroying the environment. We need to destroy the habitat of many creatures in order to have the space to gather oil and gas. This leads to the extinction of rare animals and plants, and even the local ecosystems. Not only that, it will make the environment at the places become polluted from the gas production from those machines because they mainly use oil to burn for fuel. For instance, oil pumps on the sea leak a lot of oil and release a large ammount of greenhouse gases, which result in the death of many marine creatures and make the place uninhabitable. Therefore, this is only a temporary solution to the further problems we are facing.

On the other hand, sources from remote and natural areas can contain an abundance amount of oil and gas because of being untouched. This rich amount of resources can easily solve our energy demand and may improve the quality of life. For instance, during the summer in Viet Nam, many families in crowded cities such as Ha Noi, Ho Chi Minh City and Da Nang are suffering from heat. This results from the lack of electricity for the use of air conditioners.

In conclusion, it is not worth the risk to solve our increasing demand in return for the destroyed environment in natural places. We need to find more sustainable energy sources, such as wind and solar, for a long-lasting solution.