With traffic jams and pollution increasing every year in big cities, some people say that public transport should be free in big cities to help reduce these problems which are caused by cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that public transport in urban cities should be made available for no cost in order to tackle the heavy pollution and traffic due to cars. I do not agree with this idea as because I believe that although this can lower the dependence on cars to some extent it might arise new problems in transportation.

For various reasons, it would be a wrong choice to enable public transport freely accessible to everyone. As this can rise the reliance on it alone which will lead to misuse of this benefit. Due to heavily flooded citizens the wait times might also go up which can result in users not being able to reach their destination on time. For example, those who travel to work or college might face delays due to people travelling just to utilise the feature for no purpose.

Instead, this can be dealt by introducing reasonable transit fare and green tax on cars which will promote the responsible usage of the utilities leading to controlled traffic and pollution. To exemplify, I live in a city called Calgary in Alberta, Canada, where Government has implemented fare entry program where the cost of transport pass is determined by the income of an individual and all the residents who drive four vehicles are subjected to carbon tax. Through this the city is able to obtain sustainable usage of and control pollution and traffic.

To conclude, in order free the cities from traffic and to improve air quality iIt is more beneficial to have affordable pricing for public transport rather than making it completely free of cost.