You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is argued that whether modern technology has connected or separated people. Technology does help people to communicate sometimes, but I agree that it usually drives us apart.

Firstly, social media platforms are helpful for people to contact each other. With a mobile phone, we can easily chat with our friends anytime and anywhere. For example, apps like WhatsApp and Instagram provide facetime function, allowing people to see others without physically meeting. Therefore, social media users have more chances to booth their relationships. Secondly, Internet connects people around the world. News is updated every second on the internet, providing numerous opportunities for individuals to know about people from worldwide. Now, everyone could meet strangers in online chatrooms and build connections with them.

However, communication technology could also separate people. Compared to face-to-face communication, the conversation quality of online chatting is usually lower. This is because people tend to use shorter sentences while texting, and it may cause misunderstandings. Also, electronic devices became a distraction to people to maintain relationships around them. Online entertainment like short videos took over many people’s life. For example, a lot of parents complained that their children only care about their iPad. More time spent online will reduce the connections with those in reality.

In conclusion, even modern technology helped us to chat more with others, it declined the conversation quality and distracted people from real life. Overall, I believed it has driven us apart.