You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. People believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

A famous quote defining democracy is “Government of the people, by the people and for the people”. This means government is formed for development and well being of a country and its citizens. Now, when it comes to the income taxes, it raises a question to the country, politians, ruling government and the system handling it.

It always hurts most of them, when a significant amount of money is deducted in form of hard from hard earned money. But one should remember these taxes which we pay are used in development and different services offered by government to the country. Speaking about my country, India, a developing nation, there are crores of people who cannot afford to pay doctor’s fee, millions who cannot afford to have even a single meal a day, lakhs of people who cannot afford to send their children to school and many such problems. All this facilities are provided free of cost by the government. Along with these, building better transportation, boosting new job oppurtunties and many more things are handled by them.

But even after these, the same question arrises. Why to pay income tax? This is all because the points mentioned above, are the problems faced and politians promised to solve. But were never addressed properly or even left aside. For instance, the free education and health facilites though are being provided by government, but, it still lacks the quality of service. Healthcare instruments are often outdated and poor teaching techniques. Its not that the government lacks of funding, its due to the corruption. And this term enough makes one to feel cut off the tax.

To conclude, in my opinion, government should impose taxes only if they are providing better services without any corruption making each every individuals contribution fruitful.