You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. People believe that they should be able to keep all the money they earn and should not pay tax to the state. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Income tax is an important source of wealth for almost every country in the world. Citizens pay a portion of their earnings to the government according to a predefined scale. Even though it is hard to imagine a modern state functioning without collecting income taxes, some critics contend that having to pay income taxes is unfair. In this essay, I will argue that income taxes are absolutely necessary to run a country smoothly, and every person enjoying the benefits of residing in a functional state and earning their livelihood should pay taxes.

Firstly, it is undeniable that sometimes the excessive income tax rates become a burden in some countries, especially for the middle-class. It is also true that income tax is not the only source of income for a country, as tariffs and VAT also play a role. However, income tax is almost invariably the largest contributor to the overall earnings of any modern state. The government has to bear a lot of responsibilities in any country nowadays. From constructing roads and highways to building schools and hospitals, from supplying with life saving vaccines to facilitating cutting-edge research, the government’s expenditure is significant. It is simply unrealistic to take away the most important source of funding and expect the state to perform all these duties seamlessly.

Furthermore, income tax is one the core mechanisms that ensure some sort of balance in the weath between different classes in the society. These taxes are often cherged in a way that the rich have to pay significantly more taxes than the middle-class. If the earnings are too low, the taxes are entirely exemted in most countries. That way, the wealthy people contribute a portion of their wealth for the welfare of the needy. As a result, it creates a trickle-down effect of wealth and minimizes the financial discrimination to some extent.

In conclusion, I believe that even though giving away one’s hard earned money to the state may seem unfair in hindsight, it has a far-reaching effect in the society. It enables a 21st century state to function properly and provide its residents with services and perks that are absolutely essential. In today’s capitalist world, it also plays a crucial role in striking a bit of a balance between the privileged and the underprivileged. Hence, every responsible patriot should pay taxes for the betterment of their country.