You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people believe that using animals for experiments is unethical and such action should be strictly banned. Nevertheless, others contend that animal experiments can yield some essential scientific discoveries that can bring advantages to human life. In this essay, I argue that animals should no longer be used for experimentation, despite some benefits they might bring, because there are some alternatives that can be applied instead.

The first reason why it is not ethical to kill animals for experiments is that animals are living things, existing on earth with their own living rights. They have the freedom to live as much as humans do, so killing them for human needs against their will is wrong. Not only are animals’ rights violated, but using animals for experiments can also harm the ecosystem’s sustainability. Animals belong to a food chain that maintains the well-being of the ecosystem. Were it disrupted, the predators would lose their food, causing an unbalanced cycle in the ecosystem. Hence, one species should not be forcibly taken for human purposes because it is against their animal rights and can cause the extinction of its kind, ultimately weakening the food chain and ecosystem.

As for the alternative, scientists can use the advances of Artificial Intelligence (AI) for their experiments. The ability of AI to replicate animals’ characteristics can help scientists test any new chemicals or products they try to develop. Such tests also allow scientists to redo their experiments until the desired outcome is achieved because they are done on a computer, leaving animals to survive. In addition, companies can also spearhead a new innovation of a product that does not need any animal tests. They can start using safe ingredients for their products, so such testing can be skipped from the process.

To conclude, the use of animals for product testing is wrong because it is against the rights of animals to live, and it can also cause instability in the ecosystem. As a solution, the use of AI might replace the need to kill animals for experiments, or companies can also start using safe materials with no tests on animals required for their products.