You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Several species are animals are facing extinction and many are fast approaching to a similar fate. Most of the reasons of said borderline extinction is human caused and must be taken seriously to solve this problem.

Urbanization is one of the main phenomenas that affect the animals. Animals are forced to move from their natural habitats to build more housing. Not all flocks survive this immigration causing an “unnatural-selection”. Another aspect that needs to be considered is the domestication of wrong animals. For instance, a species named gypsy moth was brought to the USA in order to harvest silk. Later on, few of the moths managed to escape the breeding farm and started migrating to North America. Since they did not belong to that environment, they became invasive species. Various bug species were close to vanishing. This event contributed to the imbalance of the flora of many Northern States. In order to prevent such cases, necessary regulations must be implemented to protect animals which are in the verge of extinction. Artifical habitats can be built and house those animals, until they are populated enough to roam free in the nature. In addition to that. Also, use of animals for economic value must be limited and checked regulary by authorities. Lastly, deterrent laws can be enforced to the individuals who disturb the well-being of endangered breeds.

In conclusion, humans are a great threat for the animal kind. However, if the right actions are taken to protect them, the life conditions of the animals can be improved and some of them can be saved from extinction.