You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that in modern society individuals are becoming more dependent on each other, while others say that individuals are becoming more independent of each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In modern society, one one hand, many individuals argue that people having grown more dependant on each other. However, on the other hand, others argue that people have grown more independant from each other. In this essay, I will be further entailing both views and state my opinion based on my knowledge and experience.

I believe that, in this modern world, humans have slightly grown more apart. One of the reasons of this is artificial intelligence. In the past, before internet, when people wanted to learn something, they would usually seek education from a teacher in that manner or read a book. Nowadays, however, any eligible person with an electronic device and internet can potentially gain access to that information. For example, instead of a teenager girl asking her mom how to bake cookies, she could simply follow a recipe online generated or linked by an artificial intelligence robot or application. Another reason is individualism. In recent times, individualism has grown expotentially compared to previous decades; this individualism view of life have caused people to be more dependant on themselves. An example of this would be demonstrated in international chess tournaments in the 1980s. In the 1980s, the notion of individualism was largely spread in the United States. Whereas, the soviet union’s citizens often depended on others and asked for help. In chess tournaments during that era, American players appeared to be studying and playing chess individually. However, soviet union players, would study chess together and establish strategies with together.

However, Others disagree with this statement. They believe that people have became more reliant on each other in recent times. One reason they claim is social media. Social media has created and strenghtened many relationships across the globe. Social media has connected people together no matter the distance. Moreover, people help each other on the internet. A group of high-school boys can study together on screen sharing applications like Zoom. This makes them more dependant on and aid each other. Another reason is increased partnerships and relationships. With the help of social media, many people have connected with each other and avoided being lonely. A shy high-school girl that may not have many friends in school can have many friends online. This connects people together and ravels the ties that have been cut.

In conclusion, I agree with many points of both points of view. However, I believe that humans have and will continue to grow apart with the introduction to robots to the world. In the future, instead of having in real life friends, a person may have robot friends, which will grow people apart.