You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, it has become alarmingly common to hear about some animal species becoming extinct or fast approaching a similar risk, such as becoming an endangered species. Over the years the human species have learnt more and more about certain species that have become extinct a long time ago, some even before humans existed which means there must be natural causes along with those caused by man.

There are many reasons which can lead to some species becoming almost extinct, the first of those being human intervention, which can occur in many forms. Pollution caused by humans affects the habitats of certain animals, making them inhabitable. The most notable example is the effect humans have on aquatic creatures, where oceans and most bodies of water are being affected by oil spills, chemical waste, and disposed plastic. Although only common in certain areas of the world, hunting is also a major cause of concern, where hunting animals such as elephants for their tusks affects their population. Moreover, global warming is also causing changes in mating and migration patterns for some species.

The extinction of certain species can have an effect on Earth’s entire ecosystem, as it can cause imbalances in energy transfer between organisms. Therefore, strict measures must be taken to prevent this occurance. In my opinion, governments should become more involved in setting regulations as well as consequences for those who don’t follow the rules. Raising awarness about the problem can also help change and better people’s actions, this can be done through giving lectures on how our actions matter at schools and universities.

In conclusion, extinction of species is a serious matter, for which great attention must be paid. Otherwise, it can lead to significant probelms with our planet’s ecosystems, where all species could be affected.