A growing number of people rely on restaurants and convenience food (frozen food and packaged meals) rather than home-cooked food to supply most of their meals. What are the advantages and disadvantages of eating this way?

In some parts of the world, the growing popularity of people who choose to eat at restaurants and convenience stores rather than cooking at home to provide most of their meals. This situation holds both advantages and disadvantages for humans.

The first limitation is that food at restaurants and convenience stores (frozen foods, packaged foods) will not ensure hygiene and safety. If the food at a restaurant is not hygienic, it is very easy to get food poisoning. Another reason is that they are very harmful to health. Because canned foods at convenience stores are mainly pre-processed and frozen foods, they are high in fat, salt and sugar. For instance, my brother is at risk of becoming obese because he eats too much convenience store food.

Despite the negatives mentioned above, food at restaurants and convenience stores bring a wide range of benefits. First, they will help us save time. Instead of planning meals, shopping, cooking and then cleaning up after each meal, we just need to go to a convenience store to complete the meal. For example, on overtime days, my sister just needs to put canned food in the microwave to finish dinner. Second, fast food at convenience stores and restaurants will be essential for people who don’t know how to cook. People who are bad cooks will not need to go to the kitchen on a regular basic. Or when inviting friends over, they can also make mealtime much simpler by ordering food.

In conclusion, in my opinion, restaurant and convenience foods has both beneficial and detrimental effects.