A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Numerous companies have invested large amounts of money into searching missions, with a purpose to find new oil sources. As this has been one of the main energy resources in our history, it has been a priority for many, especially for organisations whose earnings depend on it. However, our planet’s oil quantities are not infinite, and many thinks that we should rather focus on discovering new alternatives, such as the wind and the sun.

Oil has served as one of the main energy resources for many centuries and has presented a crucial discovery in our population’s development. Cars are powered with all kinds of fossil fuels, transportation services rely on it and most of the factories in the industry use oil daily. Moreover, it is an important facilitator of heating processes, allowing people to easily heat their homes and cars. With its universal use, it motivated individuals globally, to invest their times and fundings into discovering novel oil sources.

Despite all advantages that oil offers, it causes various problems, one of the main ones being global warming. This resource is not environmentally friendly and it has been proven, that oil is a major climate change contributor. Secondly, although the Earth’s big surface and volume do provide immense resources, the oil storage will eventually run out. Without finding new alternatives, this could cause a worldwide crisis.

In conclusion, although oil is a universal energy supplier that fulfills a purpose in various different aspects of life, it also has a detrimental effect on the environment. In my opinion, finding sustainable energy sources, like using wind and sun’s heating power, should become our primary focus. The government should fund such development projects and develop them further, as these are resources that will never become scarce and can only be advantageous for our society.