Art and music have always been fundamental elements of all societies. Do you think art and music still have a place in today's modern world of technology? Should children spend more time learning art and music in school?

Music and art have always been held at an esteemed place in the past and present communities. Despite the aforementioned, I do not think that these two elements have a major role in the contemporary world with rapidly growing technology. As a result, I am of the opinion that children should not waste a bulk of their time studying these subjects in school because of the lower income potential and limited career prospects.

Based on the current situation, emerging software operated by artificial intelligence have the ability to create songs and digital drawings in less than one minute, compared to humans, who would take days or months achieving similar tasks. These programs use complex algorithms to copy and reproduce a musician’s voice, and create an entire song from that excerpt. Not only can they achieve the above, but they can also synthesize an operator’s worded prompt and convert it into a digital art piece. For example, the paid version of ChatGPT can offer these services at the click of a button, making artists and musicians redundant.

Therefore, young scholars should not commit a lot of their time on these career paths, due to scarce career opportunities and low paying jobs. Market research has shown that careers in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) tend to have better financial packages than the entertainments industry. Jobs are also very few in this industry, despite the ever-increasing number of graduates, meaning that very few will have good careers out of it. For instance, research conducted by a group of universities showed that less than one percent of scholars that venture into art and music find employment in their field of expertise.

In conclusion, although art and music have been a major part of past societies, children should not be encouraged to pursue them because of the diminishing relevance in the modern technological world. They should go for courses related to the STEM sector, due to the possibility of better paying jobs and increasing opportunities.