As a country develops, people tend to buy more cars. Do the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

There is no need to debate about the advancements and developments in the field of transportation engineering. As a result, the public prefers to purchase their own private vehicles to utilize these developments in a better way. This essay will explore the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon.

The key benefit is that people can commute conveniently, by their own means. Moreover, individuals will have more liberty in society, as they will buy their own personal cars. As a result, the increase in purchases will boost the economy of a country. Discussing further its benefits, the public will be able to cover long distances within a short period of time, without paying a large amount to public transportation. For instance, traveling to another city can cost a fortune for an average family of five members. However, if they choose to travel without external support, they can save a lot of money.

However, every coin has a reverse side, as the increase in the number of these personal transports can also have a negative impact on the environment. First and foremost, with a greater number of rides, traffic congestion can occur at a high level. As a consequence, this chaos can affect the surrounding area and the infrastructure of a city. For example, a great number of vehicles will produce hazardous fumes that will pollute the air, leading to various harmful and perilous lung diseases in human beings. Apart from that, other living organisms, like birds and livestock, will also have to face the consequences of the polluted environment.

To conclude, it can be said that undoubtedly, the advantages and disadvantages are equally weighted. However, the government should make some programs to handle this trend wisely. Additionally, citizens should also contribute to dealing with the negative impact it can cause to the ecosystem.