As populations grow, places of natural beauty in cities are being used for constructing new houses. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the global population is rising steadily, and cities are under increasing pressure to provide more housing. To meet this demand, many city areas have begun to renovate parks, green fields, and woodlands into residential areas. While this approach offers some short-term benefits, I believe that the disadvantages significantly outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, building new houses can help to solve the housing crisis in many countries. As urban populations grow day by day, so does the demand for affordable and accessible housing for all citizens. Even if utilising green spaces and biodiversity can be seen as a main solution to homelessness and overcrowding, we slowly destroying our nature and our chances to escape from damaging ecosystems.

In many cities, trees and green spaces play crucial role in preventing air pollution and in reducing illnesses. For example, in my own city Kyzylorda, there are several environmental issues related to air quality and lack of trees. This problem caused by climate and weather, which are followed by citizens health issues and mounting environmental problems, as coughs and asthma, or less ability to connect with nature than people in Astana.

In conclusion, although building houses in natural areas may provide some solutions to housing shortages, the environmental and social costs are far greater. Preserving nature within and around cities is essential for sustainable development and for the well-being of current and future generations.