Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that in many cities around the world there are constant traffic jams. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from owning cars?

The proliferation of car ownership around the globe has substantially escalated traffic jams over the past three decades. Taking the global phenomenon into consideration, I assert that this statement is largely correct. The executive bodies of each country must take impactful approaches to seek a solution.

As car ownership increases, it is apparent that vehicles moving on the road also rapidly proliferate, stemming heavy traffic. This is evident by the contrast between past and present conditions: decades before, as the number of self-owned automobiles was exceptionally less, traffic congestions were low; however, as the figure increased rapidly, congestions started getting greater than ever before. Such alarming trend causes problematic issues such as time consumption, air and noise pollution, environmental degradation, and so on.

In such a case, governments can play a vital role to ameliorate this situation by initiating concrete steps to mitigate the trend of owning cars. This can be done by encouraging public vehicles for transportation by reducing passenger fares, and also increasing comforts and accommodations in public vehicles. If populace find ease in travelling through public buses at minimum cost, they would not find it necessary to own a vehicle. Also, there should be limitations for the number of cars owned in each household. Each household should be restricted to owning a single private four-wheeled vehicle.

To recapitulate, the increasing number of cars on the road is becoming an alarming issue, which can be mitigated through some effective measures taken by the government. The government of each nation must take this matter into due consideration and execute actions expeditiously.