Considering that adults spend much of their lives at work, having job satisfaction is extremely important. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all employees?

Adults spend a significant part of their daily lives working. Thus, it is important to have job satisfaction. There are two main factors that contribute to job satisfaction, which are how much an employee derives meaning from that work and how good they are at their job. Knowing these two factors, it is fair to have the expectation that not all employees will have job satisfaction.

If someone aspires to have job satisfaction, as all of us do, they must first understand that jobs are not just a means to make money. Jobs are also a source of meaning and pride. Many people if asked what is the fair market pay for their occupation, they would not have a clue. For them, their job brings them so much meaning. For example, nancy loves kids. She works in a daycare where she finds it meaningful bring joy to children everyday. They in turn bring her even more happiness. The other factor for job satisfaction is pride. How good is someone at their job is directly related to how proud of themselves as well as their work. For instance, if you have been at an old fashion pizzeria in New York and watched a veteran pizza maker skillfully play with the dough and turn it into a delicious pizza, you would in awe. Often, if you praise them, you will see them crack a smile of pride.

On the other hand, many people are stuck at their jobs due to financial reasons. They derive no joy, pride, or meaning from their jobs. The only thing their job brings them is a direct deposit at their bank account. Whether on a biweekly or a monthly basis. An escape from poverty is not as meaningful as it sounds nor is it something that is unique to a few people. Everyone has to work to earn a living no matter what their job is. No matter how many jobs you have had or how many job places you have been, you will find someone who is not satisfied. That’s why it is not realistic to expect job satisfaction for employees.

In conclusion, meaning and pride are the two essecntial things that affect job satisfaction. Because, not everyone can have both or even one of them, it is unrealistic to expect every employee to have job satisfaction.