Do development in technology make crime easier to detect or do they make people more vulnerable to crime? Discuss both sides and give you opinion.

Over the time, improvement in science has led to great innovations that highly useful in the criminal sector. It is however, debatable if these enhancements ease in crime detection or conversely, fuel the already ever rising crime rate. In my opinion, I greatly acknowledge that advantages in technology has more weight than its disadvantages.

To begin with, tremendous research and efforts are put in to the technological field to introduce a new features, making them practical and ultimately impactful. For instance, the facility to scan finger prints turns out to be a significant tool for police to use in a crime scene. The ability to trace fingerprints invisible to the naked eye off of physical things and subsequently find these patterns in databases to catch a thief or a more gruesome criminal, drastically alleviates the crime rate while making it easier to solve the mystery. Additionally, innovations such as the night vision cameras provide us with meaningful visuals of a dark area, which might be insignificant to bear human sight. These advancements help the required authorities in figuring out the crimes and related law breakers.

However, sometimes such enhancements may be more towards the downside. Let’s consider the embedding of social media in our daily lives. Even though, it’s a great innovation to keep in touch with peers, the platform has also been accused of increasing cyber-crime. With our data being out on the internet, accessible to a wide variety of minds, it becomes easier for hackers to manipulate us into doing something involuntarily or illegally, making the layman vulnerable.

It can be concluded, that changes this technological world, mainly from a perspective of security is a lot more advantageous than the other way round. Even though, it might increase online crimes it can’t be ignored the aid it provides in catching more physical and violent criminals, which is an exigency.