Environmental issues such as climate change have always been an international problem because governments are not imposing harsh punishments against offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, people are becoming more aware of the increasing damages being done to the environment. Fluctuating climate trends should be paid more attention to which go unseen by governments all across the world, setting free the offenders without a strict punishment. I completely agree with this and advocate that strict rules must be in place.

Every country’s government works in the best interest of the people in their country. With environment representatives in their advisory committees and strict permit policies for companies that have the potential to cause environmental damage, they try everything in their power to not let any offender go without consequences. In India, for instance, the parliament has environment ministers. These set of ministers would be held accountable for any bill that they pass in favor of any offending companies, which will compel them to check every minute aspect before granting access. Consequently thinking that they save their constituency from any environmental damage.

Though governments take necessary precautions to obstruct any potential offender, I strongly disagree that these measures serve the complete purpose. Even with the fool-proof checks that the committee does before approving the bill, some companies manage to find loopholes and use it to their advantage. For example, many approved bill-holding companies and the environmental ministers in India are currently being sued by people residing in the areas near the company’s factories. The famous nuclear power plant leak in Bhopal is just another example reinstating the fact that the government is unable to instill fear in these offenders.

In conclusion, although governments take measures to prevent offenders, I strongly urge the need for stricter punishments given the evidence of how offenders get a pass on their offenses.