Environmental protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that only governments have the power to solve environmental problems that are posing serious threats to today’s world. However, I think that protecting the earth is the responsibility of both governments and individuals.

It is true that some environmental issues are too big for individuals to deal with. In order for serious problems, such as global warming, prolonged droughts, violent storms or other extreme weather events, to be effectively addressed, it requires the efforts and cooperation of politicians and large environmental organisations. This is because solving such problems requires special equipment, the use of modern technological devices and large numbers of experienced scientists to work together. For instance, it takes years for researchers to collect various samples and analyse huge amounts of data in order to know the major causes of global warming, and to help them find the most effective solutions to tackle this problem. Only governments can have sufficient funds and resources to invest in this.

However, I believe that individuals also need to take responsibility for environmental protection. As individuals, we can help in various ways, such as recycling more, buying more energy-efficient household items or planting more trees in our gardens. I think that without the cooperation of both politicians and individuals, environmental issues will never be effectively tackled. For example, if farmers continue to burn forests for their own purposes, regardless of the government’s regulations, the problem of climate change will never be successfully mitigated.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that protecting the environment is the obligation of both politicians and individuals.