Exposure to international media, such as films, TV and magazines, has an impact on the local culture. What do you think of these impacts? Do you think that the advantages of these impacts outweigh the disadvantages?

Access to foreign media like movies, television and magazines have greatly influenced local culture. I am of the opinion that the advantages of international exposure far outweigh the disadvantages, as they open doors to possibilities that the domestic population might not have considered.

On one hand, people, mostly conservatives, argue that non-native ideals potrayed in media are the main driving force behind the present generation losing respect for traditions. They contend that our society, so-far, has thrived on the values described in classical texts, and progressed to this point without the help of external influences. For instance, the introduction of zero was done by the ancient Indian mathematician, Aryabhata, ages before the cultural globalisation process became widespread. Such people believe that exposure to western ideas has only corrupted our indigenous population by unmasking a greater percentage to the sinful way of leading life.

Alternatively, more liberal thinkers state that the exchange of viewpoints is far more important than protecting individuals from evils that have already been prevelant in our society for long, albeit better hidden. According to their reasoning, it is impossible to move forward in a world, which encourages connection between various groups of people, by choosing to censor the content being consumed by its inhabitants. For example, post indepence, the Indian Constitution was formulated based on ideas borrowed from the American and French Constitutions. These concepts had been brought to India by the means of internation media.

In conclusion, it is evident that choosing to gatekeep media, regardless of whether it belongs to entertainment or news, can have detrimental effects on how a certain group of people formulates their opinions. By encouraging free exchange of the ideals depicted in international broadcasting, we create a world in which people are more willing to listen to outside perspectives, giving them a chance to explore wider range of possibilities.