Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The governmental budget is usually tight for it must take care of myriads of issues, while contruction of both railways and roads involves large amount of investment from the government. It is thus crucial to decide sensibly which one goverments should invest more funding in. From my perspective, I believe spending more money on railways is the right choice.

Investing in railways would bring more benefits than roads. One such benefit is the esclation of local economic level. Railways make it possible to transport goods across long distance by train, which allows commodities to be transferred not only more efficiently, but also cheaper than transportation by lorries. The elevated efficiency and decreased cost of the long-distance transportation is of great significance for economic development of any district. The miracle of economic booming of China in 21st century, for example, has substantially relied on the construction of an advanced national railway network, which enables emerging commercial activities to overcome space limits in a relatively low cost.

Some may argue that though railways indeed bring about substantial benefits, the construction of railways nonetheless would take up a great sum of money and is way more expensive than constructing roads. Thus, investing in roads would be more plausible. However, this is not valid, because the large amount of money spent on the construction of railways would lead to major public projects that give rise to large quantities of job opportunities, followed by a decrease of the local unemployment rate and thus the public spending in offering subsidies for the unemployed. These societal benefits, along with the economic benefits elaborated as above, would easily outweigh the cost brought by the increase of public spending on railways.

In conclusion, more money should be distributed to the construction of railways than roads, as it would bring about more social and economic benefits.