Human society has made great technological progress in the last hundred years. Some people think this also has negative effects on our life. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is becoming widely popular to believe that the progress in technologies, for the last hundred years, has brought mostly positive effects, while others think the opposite.

First of all, recent breakthroughs in science have led to enormous alterations in our life, especially in terms of medicine and engineering. That is to say, in comparison to the previous generation, they suffered not only from recovering issues, but also they struggled from transportation difficulties. In addition, the aforementioned problems got even worse due to poverty and unavailability of public access to medical and commuting facilities. Taking as an example, before the invention of planes and trains, people used to make a lot of efforts to visit other cities and countries, which tended to be dangerous and meant taking great risks, such as attacks by swashbucklers, illness and hunger. As a result, it can be concluded that new developments eliminated the risk of being under a variety of threats as well as alleviating the life conditions.

In contrast, technological advancements have made us feel alienated(isolated), since these days people prefer to stay at home whether meeting society. In other words, there has been a growing trend among individuals to stay home rather than socialising. As a result, it leads to a poor social life and a lack of real communication. People decrease the amount of face-to-face interaction which results in social isolation and later depression. Even though technological improvements allowed society to be in touch with so many people in the online world, it took the ability to keep the relationships in real life.

In conclusion, although our life is tightly connected with technology, it can be harmful for us as well. Subsequently, with all due gratitude to technological enhancements we should not forget the side effects which they bring.