If children behave badly should their parents take responsibility and also be punished? State your answer and give your reasons. Or if a five year old commits a crime (any kind), should his/her parents accept responsibility and how should they be punished. What is the age of o child when parents no longer hove the responsibility of o child's behavior?

An increasing concern for many people around the world is that, whether parents should be responsible for the misdemeanors of their children. I believe that parents should be held responsible if their children commit any crime. A number of arguments surround my opinion.

To begin with, if parents know that they will be held accountable for their children’s inappropriate actions, they will be more careful in the supervision and upbringing of their children. Parents are responsible for bringing their children into the world, so it is their utmost responsibility to raise them in a way that they become assets to society, not liabilities. Everyone knows that juveniles make mistakes, but it is the onus of the parents to keep an eye on them so that they do not exceed their limits and commit grave crimes. Secondly, it has been seen that if parents are held responsible then it would definitely lead to an improvement in family life. Such parental responsibility would become a cultural norm and families would develop a closer bond. Divorces would become rare and broken families would also become less. Finally, children are also less likely to a commit crime if they know their parents would be responsible for their inappropriate deeds.

There are those who oppose holding parents responsible. They say that children today are independent and there are many external influences, which affect behaviour of children such social media and peer pressure. However, I firmly believe that if parents take care of their children and monitor their activities and friends circle, the effect of external influences could never be so overwhelming that children commit crimes. Parents could be made to pay fine if children commit petty crime and the punishment could also be more severe such as a heavy fine and imprisonment if the child commits serious crime such as murder.

summing up, if we want to reduce the number of such crimes, we need to make parents take more responsibility.