If old people are no longer physically, mentally or financially able to look after themselves, younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that the younger generation in family should be legally held accounted for assisting their elders who are incapable of taking care of themselve by means of physics, mentality, and finance. While this essay is justifiable, I would contend that youngsters should take the responsibility for this issue.

On the one hand, it is understandable why the youth may find it difficult to care for their elderly parents to some extent. Firstly, they are engrossed to their jobs. As the young need to take weighty job responsibility that allows them to afford their cover expense. Therefore, taking care of the elder may cause them over workload, potentially leading them to decreased work productivity. Secondly, each family’s circumstances and capacities vary significantly. The finance of each family is prone to be different, imposing legal obligation would put younger family members under pressure and financial burden, thereby governening bodies should enforce some policies or welfare social for elders to ensure that the old receive the care and support.

On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that this practical approach may bring enormous benefits. One rationale is that it is youngsters’ duty: parents are characteristically inclined to sacrifice their own money, career, and health in order to take care their children most of their time. As a result, children should bear the responsibility to take care their parents. For example, family members in Vietname are not predisposed of taking elder generation to a nursing home where older generation abandoned. Another justification is that all younger family members should be legally held accountable for the care of the elderly. When the older generation become frails, each familiy memeber should take care their elders so as to alleviate the financial burden of healthcare. This could avoid the dilemma of who should provide the most care.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that looking after the elder may bring about a negative impact on youngsters’ jobs and each financial circumstances, I would contend that caring about their kin is young individuals’ moral obligation and each person’s duty.