In many countries, people are living in a "throw-away" society. They tend to use things for a short time and then throw them away. What do you think are the causes? What problems may it lead to?

Many countries face a “Throw away society” where things used for a short time and thrown away. This essay will first suggest that one of the possible causes of the given problem is that many countries do not provide with repair rating, and then submit introducing repairability index as the most viable solution.

Although humanity manages to somehow recycle things, “Throw away society” is still a concerning issue, which involves people consuming something for a short time and immediately throw it away as soon as it gets useless, especially electronics. This occurs as countries do not provide with repairability index and individuals are not aware whether they could fix items or not. For example, the largest amount of waste is being thrown in the USA, which generates approximately 800-900kg per person annually, moreover, this region has no labels indicating the fixability. Perhaps, this can be attributed to the sheer amount of waste.

However, this problem could be solved by introducing repairability index. Not only was this innovation launched to reduce escalating waste, it also contributed to the motivation of manufacturers to produce long-lasting products or goods that can be easily repaired. The index shows a score (usually out of 10) which rates how easy is to fix a broken item. This potential is already shown by France, that introduced such labels in January 2021st. As a result, this innovation encouraged French residents to choose repairable items over single-use ones, moreover, pushed campaigns to produce durable products.

In conclusion, despite the seriousness of the “Throw away society” it still can be solved by imposing repairability index as France once did. This is compulsory, otherwise the raw materials will be wasted seriously.