In many countries, people do not recycle waste materials, such as bottles and newspaper. What are the reasons for this? What could be done to solve this problem.

In several countries, residents are not used to recycling discarded materials, like plastic bottles and newspapers. I believe that the root of the problem stems from a busy lifestyle and a lack of modern technology, which can help people to deal with waste products easily. This issue can be alleviated by providing recycling machines and encouraging people with financial incentives.

People perceive recycling as a time-consuming activity, easpecially without convienient facilities. Many employed or studying people are not able to waste a lot of time just to recycle bottles or other plastic rubbish, so that they are opting to throw it away, rather than spending time on recycling. Moreover,the absence of modern tools makes the process even less attractive, as people do not have access to appropriate disposal options. Consequently, the combination of time pressure and limited infrastructure significantly discourage recycling behavior.

To solve this problem, the government has to support material recovery, equipping local markets with RVMs (reverse vending machines) to ensure that it is fully comfortable to local people. Furthermore, they can reward them, giving some money for each returned bottle or paper. A good example is machines in Germany, they allow a person to insert a used or empty glass bottle, plastic bottle or aluminum for a deposit bonus. After inserting the recyclable item, it is compacted, sorted, and analyzed.

To sum up, the lack of recycled products and people’s motivation to recover is a global issue, which is caused by an individual’s lifestyle and difficult process of recovery.