In many countries, the gap between the rich and the poor is widening. What problems does this trend cause, and what solutions can you suggest to address this issue?

In recent years, the gap between rich and poor has widened, which has resulted in many issues for society. This essay will first suggest that unfairness faced by the underprivileged and fall in the country’s economy are the biggest problems caused by this and it will argue that tax increment to affluent and increased government policies to support the poor are the most viable solutions.

The foremost problem caused by the above trend is the adverse effects faced by poor people due to incorrect decision made by wealthy people sitting at the management level. To explain this, if wealthy people are the decision makers of a community, it can result in wrong decisions for the whole community since they never faced the problems which poor faces on an everyday basis. Not only this, the escalated gap will result in the number of people below the poverty benchmark to increase making them unable to pay for the essential education. Consequently, there would be more illiteracy with the resultant outcome of a fall in the country’s economy.

To mitigate these problems, firstly, the government should impose higher tax to rich. By enforcing higher taxes, government will deduct a substantial amount of money resulting in rich having not much savings. So this way, the government can limit their progress to get rich. Secondly, by implementing government policies such as financial aid and free school education to the poor will give a big boost to them for educating and getting well paid jobs. For instance, in India the government is supporting the poor by providing free education and financial aid resulting in country’s economy to rise.

In conclusion, the escalating gap between the affluent and underprivileged poses significant challenges to society such as unfairness experienced by the poor and the downfall on country’s economy. However by taking concerted actions such increasing tax to rich and support to poor, will result in this gap being low.