In many countries, the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent. Why do you think is and what can be done about it?

Nowadays, in most countries, the amount of crime is steadily rising, and criminal acts are becoming moreaggressive and severe, especially in third – world countries such as Central Asian or African economies. It is clear that crime rates are higher in underdeveloped nations because their citizens often live in conditions insufficient for normal life; however, there are a number of ways in which this criminal epidemic can be defeated.

To begin with, it should be unsurprising that delinquency is incredibly widespread in economically disadvantaged communities. Due to the high level of poverty in these countries, potential criminals have more reasons to commit offenses and can therefore thoughtlessly create disorders in the land. For example, the World Department of Justice found that, compared to the European crime rate, the average crime rate in African economies is 12 times higher in terms of misdemeanors and 4 times higher in terms of violent acts per year. Consequently, it is to be expected that criminal rates are much higher in countries with larger amount of poverty.

However, despite the severity of the crime problem, there are a number of ways in which underdeveloped countries could battle it more efficiently. Firstly, governments could reform their internal policies and strengthen law enforcement. Secondly, poor regions should be provided with basic needs such as workplaces, clean water, health care, education facilities, and well- developed infrastructure by the state. Lastly, governments could prioritize improving economic attractiveness in order to attract investment and boost development.

In conclusion, although crime is a serious issue in the underdeveloped world, if we can ensure access to basic necessities in poor regions and implement effective policies, the situation will be significantly improved in the coming years.