In modern times, children are spending less time with their families and more time with their friends. Why has this change occurred? Do you think parents should force their children to spend more time at home?

Nowadays, children prefer spending leisure time with friends rather than staying with their parents. This is largely because children do not want to feel left out among their peers and it can be argued that parents should not force teenagers to stay at home.

Youngsters do not want to miss out on social activities with friends. With the invention of modern technology, people often share their experiences and activities on social media, especially teenagers. As a result, children want to engage in such activities more, so they have something to post and create memorable experiences with their peers. For instance, adolescents mostly visit popular and entertaining places with their friends, rarely with family, to showcase their social life and share it with followers. In this way, by interacting with each other via social media, children often choose friends over family in order to make enjoyable and lasting memories.

In contrast, teenagers whose parents force them to stay at home often rebel against such control. If youngsters are forced to spend more time with family, they may interpret it as a form of punishment. Consequently, adolescents often develop negative attitudes towards their parents. However, if teenagers are encouraged to bond with family, they may stay at home more willingly. It is important to explain the value of family relationships, in order to develop strong family bonds. Although children spend time with friends, they should also look forward to family time too.

In conclusion, children seek to participate in various activities with friends and avoid feeling different among their peers. Nevertheless, parents should promote family bonding through understanding and communication, rather than through force.