In some countries, more and more adults are living with their parents after graduating from college, university, or even after finding a job. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

When students graduate from their university or college, they often prefer to live with their family. While this trend offers significant financial and emotional benefits, it may also have certain drawbacks related to their personal development.

One clear advantage of living with parents is significant financial support. By avoiding or minimizing rent and other expenses, young people can save enough money for their future life. For example, they can save up money and start their own business. Moreover, a family home often provides reliable support. During the stressful period of time after graduating from the university, emotional support and home-cooked food can decrease stress and save young peoples’ mental health. This allows young people to make more successful career choices rather than going to the first available job that they do not like.

Conversely, this trend may be destructive for the self-development of graduates. For example, young people may not develop necessary life skills, such as coping with everyday difficulties, because parents solve all daily problems. Furthermore, graduates and parents can start to argue, because adults and young people have different lifestyles, household responsibilities and opinions.

In conclusion, while living with parents post-university provides an opportunity to save money and emotional stability, it can also slow the process of becoming independent and lead to conflicts between parents and their children.